Siwar Eid

A few days ago, I went through some photos I had in my phone (bellow), for me with amazing kids I met while volunteering in “Save A Child’s Heart”, they brought up so many memories and joy; that I had to write about my experience in “Save A Child’s Heart” and share it with everyone.

Almost a year ago, I made my first entrance into the organization’s house in Holon, after a long ride by train and bus that lasted an hour and a half.  I must say: it was just mesmerizing to watch this small house full of faces, colors and languages, kids in different ages, from different countries I’ve never been to, they share nothing with each other, except for a rough journey to mend their small tired hearts, and a lot of giggles and love.

It felt this way every week afterwards, It was both great and challenging to be a part of this micro cosmos world, I have met with kids from different countries such as: Ethiopia, Kenya, Zanzibar, Romania… my ears caught many languages I didn’t get, It was hard for me to figure out how would I communicate with these kids and grant them my support and love, when I don’t speak their languages! but it was the THING about “Save A Child’s Heart”: I didn’t have to be similar to share my love and sympathy and simply be there for people I  care about, doing the right thing is really about transcending boundaries and differences like color, gender, race, religion etc. especially when it comes to kids who suffer from heart deficiencies, and came all the way from their homes to a strange country; so they can be treated, many times without their parents, sick, tired, helpless… it is a humanitarian duty to stand for them, and give them warmth as much as possible, to let them feel that they are not alone in this process, and eventually everything will be just fine.

2

It’s magical what these kids go through, from the first day they arrive till the day they return home, the change that occurs to them is some sort of a modern magic combined with countless efforts from medical staff and care from the hospital and the hosting house,

At first they arrive shy, exhausted by both the long ride and illness, they do not blend in and socialize fast with volunteers and other kids at home,  you can see them overwhelmed by the new situation they are put into, but week by week I have realized that they get used to the place and they start loving it, playing around with other kids, participate in different activities we –the volunteers- plan, goofing around with us, dance and sing, learn to talk in English, and the most important; they start to feel better and healthier.

1

There was this 6 years old girl Helina from Ethiopia; who’s her journey in “Save A Child’s Heart” touched my heart the most, and left behind a big influence on me, she bravely underwent two lifesaving surgeries and spent 8 long months in Israel until she was finally deemed healthy to return to Ethiopia, while her stay she learned to speak English Hebrew and Swahili, even though she was in much pain she was always smiling and happy, liked to dance and show off her Ethiopian dancing moves, and she loved to take selfies with everyone! I couldn’t be happier for her to be healthy and home again. ☺

I am grateful for my volunteering experience at “Save A Child’s Heart”, I have come to know many volunteers and kids from all around the world, I’m satisfied to be part of something this big, it changed me to be a better person, and I have literally brought up the best of me there, and the most important: at “Save A Child’s Heart” I finally had a clear vision of what I really want to do with my life.

3

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

