Alex Khozin

My name is Alexandra Khozin and I was a part-time volunteer at Save a Child’s Heart. I cannot begin to express how unbelievable my experience at SACH truly was. I had signed up for this program a few months prior to my arrival because I wanted to give back to this incredible organization I had heard so much about. Little did I know, these children would actually be giving me the most memorable two weeks of my life.

img_1738
Alex with Tigest, Ethiopia

During my visits at the SACH house I was constantly having to remind myself that these children were either recovering from or about to receive life saving heart surgery. One would never know the circumstances these children are in due to their constant smiles and laughter. I have never seen such happy, loving, appreciative, and kind children in my entire life.

img_1416
Alex playing with Faith, Kenya and having her hair done by Barira, Ethiopia and Khalid, Ethiopia

Not a day goes by that I don’t miss or think about these children. My only regret about the entire experience is not having spent more time there. I would give anything to hop back on a plane and spend endless more time with these precious children and their courageous mothers. I am so thankful to SACH for welcoming me with open arms, and to all the children for allowing me into their lives for the weeks I was volunteering.

img_1756
Alex and Rewany, Ethiopia

Save a Child’s heart is truly the most amazing organization and I feel so blessed to have been able to be a part of it. The bonds I have created during my experience at SACH are one in a million and I will never forget my time there.

To find out more about being a part-time volunteer on your trip to Israel, check out our website.

Leave a Reply

